Collapse Menu
Documentation
FastSpring App
Developer Tools
Contact Support

Advanced Subscription Scheduling

Overview

This article describes the Advanced Subscription Scheduling feature, which lets you create highly customizable subscription lifecycle flows.

The Advanced Subscription Scheduling feature lets you configure your subscription product to have a pre-defined number of billings and then automatically renew into a different subscription product.

Alternatively, you can configure the subscription to automatically renew into a different subscription product after the final scheduled billing period. Following that renewal, the price, charge interval, and number of rebills for the new product will replace those of the original product. This feature allows you to achieve various rebill scenarios.

Subscription billing models which FastSpring supports include:

This feature must be enabled by FastSpring Support for use. To take advantage of this feature, contact our support team and request to have Advanced Subscription Scheduling activated. 

Table of Contents

Consumer Experience

The consumer experience for subscriptions with advanced scheduling is similar to that for subscriptions that do not have advanced scheduling. However, there are a couple of slight differences. 

Web Storefront

When a consumer selects a subscription product that you have configured to renew into a different product at a later date, the text "Multiple future rebills" appears with a Details link. Clicking either Details or Subscription terms reveals information of upcoming changes in billing, as shown below. 

 

Popup Storefront

When a consumer on a Popup Storefront purchases a subscription product that is configured to renew into a different product at a later date, the text View Details appears as a link, which they may click on to see additional detailed information.

 

Subscription Details on the Account Management Page

Consumers can access information about advanced scheduling on the Subscriptions tab of the Account Management site. There, they click Subscription Terms to access complete scheduling details. Each order receives a fulfillment email containing order details and a link to the Account Management site

Configure a Subscription to Renew Into a Different Product

If you configure a subscription to renew as a new product, the new subscription will automatically take place at the end of the billing cycle. For example, you can adjust a three-month trial subscription with a single, initial charge to renew as a separate subscription product with a monthly billing cycle.

  1. From the main page of the FastSpring App, select the Products menu.
  2. Click the Subscriptions tab, and then select the subscription you want to edit.
  3. In the subscription product's details page, click Edit in the Pricing section.
  4. In the Pricing dialog, set the Subscription Type to Standard. Set the Charge Interval as desired. Then, select the radio button next to Rebill for
  5. Specify the number of charges (including the initial purchase) that you want this subscription to have before renewing it to be a different product.
    • For example, for a three-month period with only the initial charge, set the Charge Interval to Every 3 Months and enter 1 in the Rebill for field.
    • For a monthly billing every month for three months, set the Charge Interval to Monthly and enter 3 in the Rebill for field. 
  6. To the right, select then renew into different product in the drop-down. An additional field appears.
  7. In the Renews Into field, type to select the subscription product that this will turn into after the specified number of rebills. 
  8. Click Save. Details of the upcoming subscription product now appear in the Pricing section.

Subscription Instances in the FastSpring App

In the FastSpring App, you can access details of a subscription instance with advanced scheduling via the Sales menu. The current subscription (who’s Pricing details govern the current billings) appears in the Current Period field on the right. The upcoming subscription appears in the details of the Subscription Term. You can see the date range for each subscription, and a link to view more details.

Click the currently active product on the left side of the page to access and edit the subscription billing details.

Webhooks and API Responses

Webhook events and API responses regarding subscriptions with advanced scheduling behave the same way as with regular subscriptions, with one addition:

On the date that the first product renews into the second product, a subscription.updated event will fire (if you have subscribed to that event) to indicate the new product associated with the subscription instance. However, FastSpring will not send the corresponding customer-facing email message regarding the update in this case.

 

Disabling Advanced Subscription Scheduling

You cannot disable the Advanced Subscription Scheduling feature directly from the FastSpring App. FastSpring Support can disable the feature for you upon request. Disabling the feature only prevents new subscription products from being configured to renew into other products. It does not undo any advanced scheduling configurations that you made while the feature was enabled.

However, there are two important things to note about what happens when the feature is disabled:

  1. If the feature is disabled, existing subscription instances that are scheduled to renew into another product are not affected or updated. They will still renew into the other product as scheduled; the only way to prevent this is by canceling the subscriptions.
  2. If the feature is disabled, subscription products with advanced scheduling remain configured that way unless you change them back via the product's Pricing field. However, doing so does not affect consumers' existing subscriptions
After Support disables the feature for you, you will no longer have the option to renew into a different product via the Pricing dialog. To change an existing subscription back to no longer renew into a different one, open the dialog and click Save. You do not need to make any other changes. If the change is successful, the Pricing line on the subscription’s detail page no longer shows that it will renew into a different product.