Collapse Menu
Docs Home
Extensibility Options
Contact Support

Users, Roles and Types of Access

Overview

FastSpring allows you to configure multiple users for your account; each user can log on to the Dashboard with a unique login and password, and with a "role" defined for that user. User roles let you control which areas of the Dashboard and features each user can access.

Overview

FastSpring allows you to configure multiple users for your account; each user can log on to the Dashboard with a unique login and password, and with a "role" defined for that user. User roles let you control which areas of the Dashboard and features each user can access.

 

FastSpring allows you to configure multiple users for your account; each user can log on to the Dashboard with a unique login and password, and with a "role" defined for that user. User roles let you control which areas of the Dashboard and features each user can access.

 Tutorial Video

Check out our tutorial video on adding and managing users:  How to Add or Manage Users.

 Note:

Only users whose role is Administrator can create, change or disable other user accounts. However, any user can change his or her own password.

Please click one of the following links to jump to the corresponding section of the document.

To add a new user

 Check out our guided walk-through

Would you like to have the system walk you through adding a new user? If you have administrator permissions to Dashboard, click here to launch the guided walk-through.
  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.

    User-added image
     
  2. The Users page will appear. Click User-added image.
    User-added image
     
  3. The Add User page will appear.

    User-added image
  4. Click the drop-down selector in the Role field and specify what the new user's role will be.
     

    RoleDescription
    AdministratorThis account is no different than the initial Administrator user that is created for a new account. It will have full access to make changes to the Store and the account.
    AccountantIn addition to order information, this user will have access to the Account Balance tile, payment information, and the Reports menu.
    Store AdministratorThis type of user will have the same control over a single Store as an Account Administrator, except it will not have access to payment methods, payment information, rate information, your Store balance, etc.  This user role is appropriate for someone who needs to set up and maintain the Store, and who does not, or should not, have access to financials.
    Store MaintainerThis account user type has access to all functionality in the Dashboard for a single Store, except for reporting and accounting. This role allows you to grant access to employees or developers to allow them to make technical changes to the setup of your Store (such as updating products), while preventing them from seeing information relating to sales that you might want to keep private.
    Store Marketing (With Reports)In addition to order information, this user will have access to the Reports menu, as well as the Coupons menu.
    Store Marketing (Without Reports)In addition to order information, this user will have access to the Coupons menu. This user with not have access to the Reports menu.
    Store ReportingIn addition to order information, this user will have access to the Reports menu.
    Store Order SupportThis user can perform order related activities, including an order search, refunding an order, looking up a license code, and processing a purchase order. All other functionality of your Store is hidden from this user.


     

  5. In the Full Name section, enter the new user's First Name and Last Name.
  6. In the Login Email field, enter the new user's email address.

    User-added image
     
  7. Click CREATE to complete the setup. FastSpring will automatically email the new user with a temporary password to use when the new user signs on.

back to list

 

Roles and access rights at a glance

The following table illustrates the access rights associated with each role.

 
 
Accounting
/ Payments
Storefronts
Products
Promotions
Activity
Reports
Integrations
Settings
Administrator*User-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added image
Accountant*User-added image   User-added imageUser-added image  
Store Administrator User-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added image
Store Maintainer User-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added image User-added imageUser-added image
Store Marketing (With Reports)   User-added imageUser-added imageUser-added imageUser-added image 
Store Marketing (Without Reports)   User-added imageUser-added image User-added image 
Store Reporting     User-added image  
Store Order Support    User-added image   

*Administrator and Accountant roles have access to the listed areas for the entire account, as opposed to only the current Store.

back to list
 

To change the role assigned to an existing user

  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.

    User-added image
     
  2. Select the user whose role or information you want to change. 
  3. Click the OPTIONS drop-down menu at the top right-hand corner of the page and select Reset Roles.

    User-added image
     

     Note:

    In addition to the Reset Roles command, you have the option to click Change to Account Administrator or Change to Company Accountant. If you select either of these three options, click OK when prompted to confirm your selection and you can skip the remainder of this procedure.
  4. Click OK when prompted to confirm that you want to reset permissions.
  5. Click the OPTIONS menu again, and select User-added image.
  6. The Add Role popup window will appear; click the drop-down next to Choose Role and select the desired role.

    User-added image
     
  7. Click ADD to complete the change.

back to list

 

To disable an existing user or re-enable a disabled user

If you need to disable a user's access (e.g. for someone leaving the company), please use the following simple procedure.

  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.

    User-added image
     
  2. Select the user whose access you want to disable.
  3. Click the OPTIONS drop-down menu at the top right-hand corner of the page and select Disable.

    User-added image
  4. Click OK when prompted to confirm that you want to disable the user's access. The user will no longer appear in the list of users by default.

 

If you need to view a list of disabled users or re-enable access for a user that has previously had access disabled, please use the following procedure.

  1. From the Dashboard, select the Store's drop-down menu at the top left-hand corner, and then select Users.
  2. Click the OPTIONS drop-down menu at the top right-hand corner of the page and select View Disabled Users.

    User-added image
  3. If you need to re-enable access for a user whose access has been disabled, select the user whose access you want to re-enable.
  4. Click the OPTIONS menu again and select User-added image.
  5. Click OK when prompted to confirm that you want to re-enable access for the user.

Try FastSpring

Get a free account and see why FastSpring is the ecommerce partner of choice for software providers around the world. Try our full-service ecommerce solution today to unlock revenue growth for your online company.