Collapse Menu
Docs Home
Extensibility Options
Contact Support

Why Might a Charge Appear on the Customer's Credit Card when the Order Failed?

Overview

This article discusses temporary pre-authorization transactions that may appear on customers' credit card accounts following a declined purchase attempt.

Sometimes a customer might contact you to ask about a charge that appears on their credit card, even when the order itself was canceled, failed, or was rejected for whatever reason.

When a customer sees a transaction associated with a declined order, it is typically a pre-authorization charge. A pre-authorization is a temporary hold of the available balance on a credit/debit card, and the cardholder is not responsible for paying for it.

Activity of this kind should not appear on customers' credit card statements. However, customers may see these items if they log on to the web site or app of their credit card issuers.

The hold is an action of the company that issues the customer's credit card account. You/we have no control over whether the customer's credit card issuer decides to use this process. The hold usually drops off the customer's card account within 5-10 business days. The exact timeframe varies and is controlled by each card issuer.

Try FastSpring

Get a free account and see why FastSpring is the ecommerce partner of choice for software providers around the world. Try our full-service ecommerce solution today to unlock revenue growth for your online company.